Goddard Brewer Horne re-elected to state jobs
The Arizona Republic
Nov. 8, 2006

Jessica Coomes

Arizona voters returned Democrat Attorney General Terry Goddard, Republican Secretary of State Jan Brewer and GOP schools superintendent Tom Horne to office for four more years.

They also selected Republican Dean Martin as state treasurer.

In the race for the Arizona Corporation Commission, which regulates utilities, securities and private water firms, Republicans Kris Mayes and Arizona House Majority Whip Gary Pierce led Democrats Richard Boyer and Mark Manoil. Mayes is an incumbent. The other seat up for election is held by Commissioner Barry Wong. Wong was appointed in July to fill the seat vacated by Marc Spitzer, who was appointed to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. And in an uncontested race, Republican Joe Hart, a former miner and state legislator, was elected state mine inspector.

Goddard and Gov. Janet Napolitano were the only Democrats to win statewide posts.

Goddard easily won re-election as the state's top prosecutor, promising to fight drug use, reduce consumer fraud and guard the border with Mexico.

Goddard beat out Republican challenger Bill Montgomery, who last month was ordered to repay $43,000 in public campaign funds to the Arizona Citizens Clean Elections Commission, the largest repayment to be received since the commission was established by voters in 1998.

Brewer, who has held public office in Arizona for more than two decades, will remain next in line for governor if Napolitano were to leave office.Martin, who served in the state Senate, will replace State Treasurer David Petersen, who has pleaded guilty to a misdemeanor charge and agreed to resign Nov. 30.

Horne's priorities are to support a state high school graduation test and pursue English-immersion and English-only teaching methods.